DIY Nursing Pads

** Update November 25th**
Baby Carter has been here for almost 3 weeks now, and this is what I have learned about my nursing pads.
They need to be thicker. I’m using two pads instead of one and that seems to do the trick. I’m not sure later on if I’ll only need one, but for right now two is working.
I’ve had a few friends suggest cloth nursing pads, at first I didn’t really like the thought of cloth pads but then I didn’t like the thought of spending money on disposable ones. I checked around on Etsy for some and thought that $10 for 10 sets was a good deal, but then while doing research on how to make our own gDiaper liners I thought I could make nursing pads too. I was over at my girlfriends house and saw what cloth nursing pads look like. I got an idea of the size and just found a glass and circled top of the glass onto paper and made that my template.

The whole project cost less than $3.00!

From there it was really easy!!

IMG_4142
We already bought a “sand” colour flannel fabric and some “diaper wicking” fabric from JoAnn’s in Bellingham for another project.

I traced out circles onto the felt (I already washed and dried the fabric) thought that 3 layers of flannel, and a top layer of wicking would do the trick.

I pinned the circles and did a zig zag stitch since I don’t own a surger.
IMG_4151

And within two hrs I had made 12 pairs of nursing pads. We’ll see how they turn out in a few weeks.

IMG_4154

2 thoughts on “DIY Nursing Pads

  1. Pingback: 37 Weeks – Officially Term | living life in the city

  2. Pingback: Do I need that?! – Baby Essentials | living life in the city

Leave a Reply

