DIY gDiaper Inserts

We’ve decided to cloth diaper. We bought used gDiapers from another momma. We only want to do laundry every 2-3 days and was thinking about buying some more cloth inserts. We figured that we need about 10 a day, and already have 17, so I made another 13.

I spent lots of time on etsy, and pinterest to find out what other mommas have done. There are many different types of fabrics that different moms have used.  Bamboo fabric was discussed as well as microfiber, and then good old flannel was also mentioned. We went to JoAnn’s and talked to the staff there and a mom who’s been making her own inserts for years was standing beside us and highly recommended flannel with a “diaper wicking” fabric on top (that would be the fabric that would touch babe’s bottom).

We picked up
1 yard of the wicking fabric for $4.00 (was on sale for 50% off, Reg price $7.99 yard)
2 yards of flannel for $6.00.
And used a 20% off total purchase coupon for a grand total of $8.00
*gdiaper insert sells for $5.00 each*

On a side note- we won’t know how well these work till mid December. We decided not to cloth diaper for the first month. I will give an update incase anyone else wants to make their own.

 

First I made out my own template. I found some on pinteret but once I printed them and measured them to
the actual insert I found that they were too small. 

IMG_4138

Then I traced out my template onto the flannel fabric. (I do have the flannel folded, hints why its pinned in place for cutting)
IMG_4147

I used four layers of flannel, and one layer of the wicking fabric. 

IMG_4156

I used a zig zag stitch- if I owned a surger, I would have used that. 
IMG_4157

And within 2 hrs, I had 13 DIY gDiaper inserts! 
IMG_4163

6 thoughts on “DIY gDiaper Inserts

  1. Pingback: 37 Weeks – Officially Term | living life in the city

  2. I used gDiapers all throughout. LOVED everything about them. Enjoy!

    PS- I highly recommend using a liner (bamboo paper cover) over too during the meconeum (sp?) stage (first few days) as those are hard to get out if the cloth.

  3. I used cloth diapers throughout the whole process and LOVED them! One thing – I recommend using a paper liner during the first few days as the black tar- like poop is tough to get out if the cloth. And extra plastic liners are nice to have too!

    • Thank you for the suggestion! We’re going to start cloth a few weeks after babe is born. We didn’t buy the newborn G’s. Have you made your own cloth liners before?

    • I am still using g’s and I love them! We’re now onto mediums and I was never able to make more inserts. I would say that they worked well as a doubling, but they probably only held an extra pee. If I were to make them again I would take microfiber do 3 or 4 layers and then top it with some fleece. I did buy some new microfiber inserts off another mama for cheep, and since with the g’s the soaker is right against babes bum the fleece was necessary, not for any extra absorbance, just for the comfort to baby’s bottom.
      Thanks for the question!

Leave a Reply

